Back to All Events

Action-A-Day 3/3: Support Sick Leave for Workers

URGENT ACTION:
Call your delegates **THIS MORNING** and ask them to support Bill #Maryland HB1 regarding sick leave. (See contact info below).

The bill is up for vote this morning. Please call your delegates right away to ask for their support.

SCRIPT:
“I am your constituent from [zip code]. I am calling to urge Delegate ____ to support HB1 because it will give sick workers the authority to stay home without the fear of losing pay or their job. It will also protect their coworkers and the public from the spread of contagious illness.”

CONTACT INFO:
Use your address to find your district: http://mdelect.net/

District 4:

Del. Kathryn L. Afzali 
 (410) 841-3288
e-mail: kathy.afzali@house.state.md.us

Del. Barrie S. Ciliberti
(410) 841-3080
e-mail: barrie.ciliberti@house.state.md.us

Del. David E. Vogt III 
 (410) 841-3118
e-mail: david.vogt@house.state.md.us

District 5:

Del. Susan W. Krebs 
(410) 841-3200
e-mail: susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

Del. April R. Rose 
(410) 841-3070

Del. Haven N. Shoemaker, Jr. 
(410) 841-3359, (301) 858-3359
e-mail: haven.shoemaker@house.state.md.us

District 9A:

Del. Trent M. Kittleman 
 (410) 841-3556
e-mail: trent.kittleman@house.state.md.us

Del. Warren E. Miller
(410) 841-3582
e-mail: warren.miller@house.state.md.us

BILL SUMMARY:

MD HB1: Requiring employers that employ 15 or more employees to provide employees with earned sick and safe leave that is paid at the same wage rate as the employee normally earns; requiring employers with 14 or fewer employees to provide an employee with unpaid earned sick and safe leave; providing for the manner in which earned sick and safe leave is accrued; authorizing an employee to work additional hours or trade shifts with another employee under specified circumstances; applying the Act prospectively; etc.

More info:
https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/md-politics/maryland-paid-sick-leave-bill-clears-house-committee/2017/02/24/89792acc-fa41-11e6-be05-1a3817ac21a5_story.html?utm_term=.af9501f0a03f#comments

http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/maryland/politics/bs-md-sick-leave-20170122-story.html